Tourist Attraction in Crema: Palazzo Bondenti Terni de Gregory
Palazzo Bondenti Terni de Gregory, is a historic building in the town of Crema, Via Dante Alighieri. Constructed in 1698 by the will of Count Nicolò Maria Bondenti, in order to be recognized as a social and noble position. After joining the General Council of Crema 1652, Nicolò Maria Bondenti was recognized by the Serenissima as the noble title of Conte di Meduna in 1682. The project for the construction of the palace was entrusted to the architect Giuseppe Cozzi, partly the work for the construction, concluded in 1704, the completion of the works at Palazzo Bondenti, continued very slowly until interrupted in 1737, with the heirs of Nicolò Maria Bondenti, leaving incomplete the right part of the central body. Over the years, Porta Puglia of Piacenza and now the present Gregory family from Terni and who resided in Crema since the end of the twelfth century, who were granted the noble title of Vittorio Emanuele III in 1920. The palace is an elegant baroque model. The area is enclosed by a wall with vaulted windows, with four sculptures realized in 1716 by the sculptors of Milan Carlo Francesco Mellone and Giovan Battista Dominone: figures representing Generosity, Wisdom and Prosperity, and the woman with sheep in reference to the Wool business of the Bondenti family. In the garden the portico, supported by columns, on the walls are reported, the names of the families of the palace and illustrious guests such as King Vittorio Emanuele II in 1859 and the Prince of Piedmont in 1924. The facade of a hot-cooked sight, which in the course of the years has preserved all its beauty, in its ancient iron wrought iron gates, on the elliptical opening of the wall towards Via Dante Alighieri. Admire the Terni Palace in the evening with its lights and shadows, the sensation that you are looking at this magnificent, somewhat fascinating, sensation of living in the past in all its artistic beauty.