Tourist Attraction in Ascoli Piceno: Battistero di San Giovanni
The baptistery of San Giovanni di Ascoli Piceno rises on Piazza Arringo, located on the left side of the main prospect of the cathedral dedicated to Saint Emidio, patron of the city. It is a simple and austere monument in the forms of sacred architecture which is well represented in the Romanesque style in Ascoli, which is among the best examples of Italian religious art, is also present in the list of Italian national monuments. (RP no. 7033 of 20/07/1890). Its structure is solid and massive, made entirely of square travertine blocks, some reused and coming from other buildings, others are considered by a pre-existing building. At the base of the east side of the monument there is the presence of finds of Roman walls. The beginning of its construction is difficult to date, however, it is assumed, from the archaeological finds of 1828, and by further excavations in the decade between 1870 and 1880, that the interior of the building was a pagan temple of the hole Hear perhaps dedicated to Hercules. The use of the temple as a baptistery was already in the 5th and 6th centuries. Giambattista Carducci confirms the period of the 6th century, taking into account the octagonal shape adopted for the interior that accompanies the baptistry ascolano to that of San Giovanni in Florence, to the baptistry of the Arians of Ravenna, to the lateranist baptistry of Rome built by Constantine. Originally, the monument had three entrances that symbolized the Most Holy Trinity and the three Churches: Militant, constituted by the baptized, faithful to Christ and the pope; Purgante, which includes the souls of purgatory preparing to reach the sky and the Triumphant represented by saints, angels, and souls who benefit from salvation. Open access to the east has been centuries-old. You can now enter the baptistery through two doors. An entrance opens onto Piazza Arringo, is framed by rectangular frameworks and garnished, above the architrave, by three triangles, the smaller side posts at the frames, and the larger center sloping by a horizontal slit. The other entrance faces the wall of the cathedral which houses the door of the Musa and shows with a parish of stones worked in different periods, Roman stucco shingles and bas-reliefs with a knotted string braid, widespread decoration in the year 1000. The inner hall has an irregular octagonal plant, typically Roman, with niches at the corners of the outer square base. The octagonal sides of the octagon measure each 5.5 meters, the classroom width is 9.14 meters on one side and 9 meters on the other. Inside the monument it is possible to observe, at the center of the floor, at the vertical of the dome's eye, the circular pool or pool, dating from the fifth century to the sixth century, rediscovered in 1839 and used according to the ritual Christian, for immersion baptism. This unique bathtub was used both to baptize men and women assisted by deacons and diacones respectively. On the right side there is a baptismal font from the 14th-15th century, placed on a tortilla column. On the altar, the boulder, oil on canvas, Baptism of Christ, of the sixteenth century, attributed to Wenceslas Corrigioli of Reggio, which is currently kept in storage.