The Basilica of San Domenico is located in Perugia In February 1961 Pope John XXIII elevated it to the dignity of a small basilica. The primitive Chesa of San Domenico, built between 1235 and 1260, was located in the area of today's largest cloister, strategically located in the city of Perugia, witnessing the proximity to the Dominican order, identified as an "official" beggar order, at the expense of the Franciscans, whose position with their conventual complex of St. Francis to the Prato was far less favorable. Dominates the landscape around the bell tower, built between 1464 and 1500 by Lombard Gasperino of Antonio, originally 126 meters high in 1546, was brought to the current 60 meters height to increase its stability. The original gothic building remains the beautiful cloister (1455-1579) and the area of the presbytery, where in the apse, over the beautiful wooden choir made in 1476 by Umbrian masters, the 15th-century glass window shines in size and colors . A tombstone in front of the main altar indicates the crypt where many Baglioni lords of Perugia are buried, up to Malatesta fifth. In the second chapel on the right of the apse is preserved the funeral monument to Benedict XI, a pope who died in Perugia in 1304, an authentic masterpiece of 14th century sculpture, probably carved from local lapicides, strongly inspired by Tuscan art. On the pillar that separates the chapel of Benedict XI from the apse is the tomb of Elisabetta Cantucci de Colis, the marble bust of a remarkable workmanship, made in 1648 by Alessandro Algardi. Among the many works preserved in the Church to be noted: in the fourth chapel of the right nave, called the vow or San Lorenzo, a remarkable dossal in stone and painted terracotta made in 1459 by Agostino di Duccio, inside which is inserted the stau of Madonna del Rosario, on the left cruise under the great car of the seventeenth-century Organo, the altarpiece depicting Pentecost, performed in 1554 by Sister Plautilla Nelli, which features an original iconography on the subject of the descent of the Holy Spirit, to the apostles other female figures, in the third chapel of the left nave Gonfalone della Beata Colomba, the work of Giannicola di Paolo executed in 1494 in which Perugia is represented, protected by Madonna and the Saints, at the architectural apex during the Signoria dei Baglioni, Adjacent to church is the largest cloister and the former convent of San Domenico, now home to the National Archaeological Museum of Umbria and The State Archives of Perugia The fifteenth-century glass window of a height of 23 meters by 8.5 in width. Along with the apses of Milan's Duomo is one of the largest Gothic windows in Italy. These are unusual windows for Italy, as they were usually trying to limit the size of the windows to protect the interior from the heat. In San Domenico, however, such a window was made necessary by the lack of another source of light. This large choir window opposite the other smaller is also visible in a 15th century fresco in the chapel of the Priori palace. The type of canopy acquires particular sonority: a band of six pairs of smaller saints forms the front of a continuous grading that creates the perception of a unique pavement, a large space common to the six niches. The heightened monumentality of the figures is underlined by the glimpses of the timpani grafted from below to let you glimpse the ribs of the cruise. The colors become more intense and less delicate: emerald emerges the turgor of the domes underlined by glowing golden ribs. The stylistic design of the Mariotto stained glass window is the concluding point of a basic study by Nunzio on canopied glass windows and iconic windows.