The Diocese Museum Albani is a museum in Urbino. It develops in twelve rooms, on the ground floor of the Archbishop's Palace, with main entrance on Piazza Giovanni Pascoli, to the right of the Cathedral. The Museum was officially established in 1964 as the Museum of the Albani Cathedral, but since the second half of the eighteenth century, the liturgical furnishings, sacred vestments and outstanding works were exhibited in the two sacristies of the cathedral, to admire the illustrious visitors. The two sacristies were made in different ages; the oldest dating back to the fifteenth century, originated with the martinian cathedral, characterized by a very sober decoration, enriched in the eighteenth century by some niches above the side doors; the other was realized in 1705, thanks to the funding of Pope Clement XI, has a richer decoration, the walls are completely covered by the wood of cabinets, the altar and the seats, as a part of the floor, the ceiling is decorated by stuccos (1775), which had to be completed with the coat of arms of the archbishopric archbishops out of the city chapter. Initially in the eighteenth century sacristy were preserved, in large closets, exposed to a restricted audience, liturgical furnishings and sacred vestments; while in the fifteenth century sacristy were exposed the paintings that were not in the cathedral, among them the famous Flagellation of Piero della Francesca. In 1840 the collection of paintings was enlarged and reordered, while continuing to follow the criterion of symmetry in their arrangement. Finally, in 1964, as a result of the increase in works from the Archdiocese churches, the then Archbishop and the Metropolitan Chapter decided to expand the five-chamber museum (including the ticket office) of the adjacent Episcope and to rearrange the collections in a manner more correct from a museum point of view, with the installation of panels and showcases more suitable for the preservation and exhibition of works. This arrangement and extension of the Museum (five halls plus the two sacristies) will be maintained until the recent renovation, which ended with the reopening on March 20, 2010, which resulted in an extension to four other Episcopal halls, a modernization of interior architecture and dell'allestimento. The entrance of the museum has also changed, if in the 1964 accommodation it was placed inside the cathedral, on the right side of the transept; with the recent renovation it was placed outside, on the facade of the Archbishop's Palace, adjacent to the right side of the Duomo. Among the main works of art exhibited in the Museum are: The lectern by Federico III from Montefeltro, which was in the Duke's library inside the Ducal Palace. It came from the booty of war from the Sacco di Volterra of 1472; probable work of English crafts in the first half of the fifteenth century. Following the devolution of the Duchy, the lectern, together with the library, was brought to Rome by Pope Alexander VII; but returned to Urbino as a gift from Clement XI to the Metropolitan Chapter at the beginning of the eighteenth century to be placed in the choir of the cathedral. The bronze candlestick probably made by Francesco di Giorgio Martini in the second half of the fifteenth century. Gift of the Dukes of Urbino to the cathedral, as evidenced by some symbols related to Duke Federico III from Montefeltro, sculpted on the base of the candlestick. Various paintings by local painters such as Timoteo Viti (maestro and collaborator of Raffaello Sanzio), Girolamo Cialdieri and other baroque painters. The gorgeous liturgical furnishings and sacred vestments, mostly for the gifts of the members of Casa Albani. In addition to a large collection of iconic codes and a collection of frescoes dating back to the fifteenth century by Antonio Alberti from Ferrara, found in the church of San Domenico and Baptist Franco, found in the cathedral during recent restoration work.